T20 World Cup 2024 Teams and Qualifiers

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be played on June 1, with 20 teams from around the world participating in the event. 12 countries will directly qualify for the T20 World Cup, including the two host countries, West Indies and the United States, and the top eight teams from the T20 World Cup 2022 (Pakistan, India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands). Bangladesh and Afghanistan secured their places in the event through the ICC Men’s T20 Best Rankings.

t20 world cup 2024 qualifiers

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualifiers

The eight remaining teams secure their places in the tournament through qualifiers, which are played on a regional basis. These qualifiers consist of two teams from Africa, Asia, and Europe regions and one team each from the Americas and the East Asia-Pacific region.

From the Europe Regional Qualifier, Ireland and Scotland became the first two teams to qualify in July 2023, followed by Papua New Guinea from the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier. In October 2023, Canada from the Americas Qualifiers beat Bermuda in the final match and qualified for the T20 WC 2024. From the Asia Qualifiers, Nepal and Oman reached the tournament. Uganda and Namibia are the final two teams that qualified after securing the top two positions in the Africa Qualifier. Unfortunately, Zimbabwe is the only Test-Playing country that failed to qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams

TeamMethod of
Date of
Previous best
Number of
West Indies Flag West Indiesco-hosts16 November 202192022Winners (2012, 2016)2
USA Flag United Statesco-hosts16 November 20211
India Flag India2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
(Top 8 teams from the previous tournament, excluding the hosts)
6 November 2022Australia92022Winners (2007)8
New Zealand Flag New Zealand92022Runners-Up (2021)
England Flag England92022Winners (2010, 2022)
Pakistan Flag Pakistan92022Winners (2009)
Australia Flag Australia92022Winners (2021)
South Africa Flag South Africa92022Semi-Finals (2009, 2014)
Sri Lanka Flag Sri Lanka92022Winners (2014)
Netherlands Flag Netherlands62022Round 2 (2014, 2022)
Bangladesh Flag BangladeshICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings14 November 202292022Round 2 (2007, 2014, 2016, 2021, 2022)2
Afghanistan Flag Afghanistan72022Round 2 (2016, 2021, 2022)
Scotland ScotlandEurope Qualifier Winners20–28 July 2023Scotland62022Round 2 (2021)2
Ireland Flag IrelandEurope Qualifier Runners-Up82022Round 2 (2009, 2022)
Papua New Guinea Papua New GuineaEast Asia-Pacific Qualifier Winners22–29 July 2023Papua New Guinea22021Round 1 (2021)1
Canada Flag CanadaAmericas Qualifier Winners30 September–7 October 2023Bermuda11
Oman Flag OmanAsia Qualifier Winners30 October–5 November 2023Nepal32021Round 1 (2016, 2021)2
Nepal Flag NepalAsia Qualifier Runners-Up22014Round 1 (2014)
Namibia Flag NamibiaAfrica Qualifier Winners30 October–5 November 2023Namibia32022Round 2 (2021)2
Uganda Flag UgandaAfrica Qualifier Runners-Up1

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the fixtures and schedule for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *