ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Host and Venue

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Host Country

The International Cricket Council (ICC) finalized the West Indies and the United States as hosts countries for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup in November 2021. Cricket West Indies and USA Cricket jointly participated in the bid after two years of preparation for the event. The ICC hopes that hosting this major T20 Cricket competition will firmly place the USA on the global cricketing map.

T20 World Cup 2024 Hosts and Venues

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Venue

ICC has confirmed the venues for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be played from June 1 to 29. Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, St Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, and St Vincent & The Grenadines will host matches from the Caribbean region.

Alongside the Caribbean countries, the USA will co-host the event for the first time in T20 World Cup history. Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida, and Nassau County in New York are designated as the three host states by the ICC.

Regarding the exciting news, ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice shared his enthusiasm as he announced the selection of 7 stunning Caribbean venues to host the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. This grand event, the largest of its kind, will see 20 teams passionately competing for the prestigious trophy. He said that all the venues are populated with cricket fans and will provide immersive support to the event.

He also added that the West Indies are going to host the 3rd event of ICC Men’s Cricket, and all the games will be played in the Caribbean, giving a distinctive experience to cricket lovers. He appreciated Cricket West Indies and all seven host governments for their commitment and support for the event.

Johnny Grave, CEO of Cricket West Indies, expressed his gratitude for the thrilling announcement of the approved Caribbean venues to host the largest ICC T20 World Cup in history, during which 20 teams will play 55 matches in June 2024.

In December 2023, officials from the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) visited the confirmed T20 World Cup host countries in the Caribbean and cities in the USA for a second inspection. This delegation also finalized the tournament’s fixture list, unveiling specific details before the complete draw was officially announced. Explore more for online tickets booking policy of the ICC.

The following stadiums have been confirmed as venues where matches will be played.

1Kensington OvalBridgetown, Barbados28,000
2Brian Lara Cricket AcademySan Fernando, Trinidad15,000
3Providence StadiumGeorgetown, Guyana20,000
4Sir Vivian Richards StadiumNorth Sound, Antigua10,000
5Daren Sammy Cricket GroundGros Islet, Saint Lucia15,000
6Arnos Vale StadiumKingstown, Saint Vincent18,000
7Central Broward ParkLauderhill, Florida, USA20,000
8Eisenhower ParkNassau County, Long Island, New York, USA34,000
9Grand Prairie StadiumGrand Prairie, Dallas, USA15,000

The United States Venues

Central Broward Park

There are only two dedicated cricket stadiums in the United States, and Central Broward Park, regulated by Broward County in Lauderhill, Florida, is one of them. It commenced operations on November 9, 2007, with a construction cost of $70 million. This was the first U.S. cricket stadium approved by the ICC to host international matches. In 2010, it hosted its first T20 series, featuring New Zealand vs Sri Lanka.

The stadium was primarily designed for cricket with a 167-yard (153-meter) diameter and a seating capacity of 20,000 people. It is equipped with stadium lighting and includes a luxury viewing area.

Eisenhower Park

Eisenhower Park, also known as Salisbury Park, is a public park with 18-hole golf courses, including the Red, Blue, and White courses, in East Meadow, New York. The park has been finalized by ICC officials as a venue for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, and a consensus has been established for the development of a 34,000-seat modular stadium designated to host the World Cup matches.

Grand Prairie Stadium

Grand Prairie Stadium is a well-known cricket ground in Grand Prairie, Texas. It served as a baseball ground from 2008 to 2020. In 2020, American Cricket Enterprises acquired this stadium and planned to redevelop it as a cricket ground, a project that commenced in 2022 with a $20 million budget. It has a capacity to host an audience of 15,000.

West Indies Venues

Kensington Oval

The Kensington Oval is a cricket stadium located in Bridgetown, Barbados. This ground has a history of more than 130 years in hosting local, regional, and international cricket matches. The Kensington Oval hosted the ICC ODI World Cup in 2007, with a redevelopment budget of $45 million USD allocated to its stands. It has a seating capacity of 28,000.

Brian Lara Cricket Academy

The Brian Lara Cricket Academy, situated in Tarouba, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago, was completed and inaugurated in 2017 as a versatile, multi-purpose stadium primarily used for cricket matches. It has a seating capacity of 15,000 people, with a mix of chairs and grass banks. The academy is named after the legendary former West Indies cricketer, Brian Lara.

Providence Stadium

The Providence Stadium, also known as Guyana National Stadium, is located in Guyana. The stadium was built specifically to host Super Eight matches during the 2007 Cricket World Cup, where it successfully hosted six matches from March 28, 2007, to April 9, 2007. It has a seating capacity of 20,000 people.

Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

Sir Vivian Richards Stadium is a Caribbean ground situated in Saint George, Antigua and Barbuda. It was built in 2006 with a $60 million budget and hosted Super 8 matches of the ODI Cricket World Cup 2007. The stadium is named after West Indies legendary cricketer Sir Vivian Richards, and it has a seating capacity of 10,000 people.

Daren Sammy Cricket Ground

The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, formerly known as Beausejour Cricket Ground due to its proximity to the Beausejour hills, is located in Saint Lucia. It was opened in 2002 with a seating capacity of 15,000. On July 21, 2016, it was officially named after Daren Sammy, the West Indies winning captain of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 in India.

The Arnos Vale Stadium

The Arnos Vale Stadium is a cricket ground located in Arnos Vale, St. Vincent. The stadium hosted its first-ever match on February 4, 1981, which was an ODI match between West Indies and England. The ground has a capacity to accommodate 18,000 spectators. The Arnos Vale Stadium was renovated over a period of 18 months in the past to host ICC ODI World Cup 2007 matches.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *